Just another typical monsoon day

Life is typical in an atypical way out here. The neighbor up and across calls me asking how my project is going. Since I have a number of projects and no idea what he is talking about I answer with a safety of, “fine”. Continuing his ramble he says I had no idea a nail gun sound like that. At this point I interrupt to ask what he is talking about. He said he heard what he thought was a gun but the other neighbor told him was the sound of a nail gun. People have been shooting rattlesnakes washed down by the monsoons but I still wasn’t sure he was talking about that. His next statement has me totally confused so I asked him what he was talking about. To which he said the neighbor told him I have a licensed contractor staying with me to complete a project. I tell him no, I am doing all my own construction. Not sure it registered as he continues to ask if I have heard or seen anything unusual, He seems to have nothing thumping onto his porch and strange symbols drawn through the dust on his car bumper. Ending the conversation with I wish I had a few of the alien’s pets to guard my house. Hanging up I am not sure if the thought of aliens or rumors is more disturbing.

Later at the laundry I am asked if I can speak Spanish, (no), which is not believed and asked to give directions to a Chinese couple and their baby who only speak Spanish.  That was disconcerting. Some how my clothes came out of the laundry dirtier than when I put them in the machine. I really need to buy a washer.

After lunch I start to head to the post office only to be stopped by a county tax assessor who needs to see the property. As I take him around I ask what would happen if I wasn’t here? He calmly says I would do it without you. Glancing at my no trespassing sign, I wonder what private property means. I have no issue with him doing his job but I do not care for people just walking about the property without permission.

Running into the grocery store the clerk tells me I look beautiful in pink. (smile). Nice to hear and the first sane interaction I have had all day.

I figure the best way to close it out is with a bit of LED hula hooping. I can hoop for a full 10 minutes without needing to break or move from the waist to the arms. Being a little tired I sit and blog. I think I will watch something on the computer since it rained all night and off and on today I hear scratching and running about the walls and floor. I do not have anything against mice and rats staying dry just not in my house, thank you. The noise will block them out.

Crickets are singing, the sky is dark and the lights of Mexico twinkle across the way. Just another typical day.

Leave a Reply

