Killer Bees Cancel Constuction

Five more minutes and I would have been finished with the foundation and only need to put up a rim when I hear this loud roaring sound reminiscent of a tsunami. It is not monsoon season yet so I was confused. Standing on the platform with hammer in hand, tape measure and gloves at my feet, I listen and look around. There is nothing to see. The sound gets closer and I realize it is the sound the killer bees hanging out in my trees make.

Looking southwesterly a swarm of black killer bees are a foot away from me. I drop the hammer jump off the platform and run at a sideways angle to their path then on into the house. Work is done for the day. I refuse to go out and check on the tools. The other day a rabbit or gopher ate one of the onions I planted tip to toe totally gone, the quail did their nesting thing right next to my pineapple sage almost killing it and today the bees!

I was in line at the grocery store behind the killer bee catcher and he was saying how he has been making money hand over fist this year, said it was like a plague of bees. I figured if I didn’t bother the bees they would eventually move on. I am having second thoughts. Just looked out the kitchen window and the tools are still laying where I dropped them, not seeing my hat but tomorrow is another day. For today work has been canceled.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Austin
    May 19, 2015 @ 17:38:07

    Are you sure they weren’t just manslaughter bees? They all look the same to me. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

