Numbers are like Popcorn

Went to the lumber yard again today. Where everyone knows my name. Actually, 3 lumber yards all know me by name and one by purchase. A very interesting phenomenon.

Anyway, here I am showing diagrams and plans both from the manufacturer and ones I worked out when the man very calmly says it is very simple just put a pencil at the end of a string a draw a circle. Ha! Like I haven’t done that before!  I very maturely roll my eyes and twist my mouth and he asks me what’s wrong with that? I say nothing. The first time I measure the circle the pencil breaks or perhaps the string stretches so I buy the expensive yellow non-stretch string or measure a second and third time to be certain of accuracy and then the numbers and measurements turn into popcorn they all just jump up into the air bounce around and fall where they may. Never in the same spot.

He smiles and looks at me, “What?” I said numbers are like pop corn and they stress me out. They jump up and pop around.” I must have looked pitiful because Wednesday on his day off he offered to come by and help me measure the circle.

Leave a Reply

