Killer Kows

“You know about the cows?”

No?

“In Arizona it is free range, which means cows cam roam as they please.  If you don’t want cows in your yard you must put up a fence.”

The person who owns the cows doesn’t need to have a fence?

“No, if you don’t want cows in your yard YOU must put up a fence. Also if the cows knock down the fence or destroy anything it is not the rancher or cow owners responsibility.”

What?! Oh well, can I then have a big Bar B Que?

“No, you are responsible for the cows until the owner gets them.”

Until last night all I thought all I had to worry about were scorpions, rattlesnakes, gilamonsters, javilina, kissing bugs, and other poisonous snakes and likely other creatures no one has yet horrified me with. Now I need to add cows to the list.

These aren’t the nice New Jersey milk cows we are talking about?

“No. they are wild steers, beef cows and bulls. By the way bulls can jump 5 feet high.”

Not sure what my nightmares will hold tonight but scorpions even the translucent ones here seem much less intimidating.

Oh, by the way starting April 7 I will be feeding horses for a week. That should prove interesting as I have never done this. For those of you new to my blog I was born in The Bronx. There are not too many jumping bulls or stampeding cows on Madison Ave. Although the police do ride beautiful horses.

But I sure look cute in my pink cowgirl hat.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 19:20:15

    So what do you expect living in the country? When you put the fence up, put in a cattle guard. Basically a big ditch in the entrance with some metal bars over it.
    You’ve got nothing to complain of. In Tucson a friend of mine and I were running on Valencia just east of Houghton when a mean steer started following us. At once a year this dude gets out and terrorizes rush hour motorists as well. One of these days that steer will ruin someone’s vehicle. Now who has rights to the meat?

    Reply

  2. beautywalk
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 19:39:16

    I was not complaining rather poking fun at my own naivete. There is much I have been learning and with a very positive attitude. What did I expect? coyotes, snakes and other things but the reality of what is imagined is very different.
    I have no fear of living next door to a gang member as that is familiar but jumping bulls is beyond my realm of reality.
    It is sad my humor has caused you anger.

    Reply

  3. bernquist
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 20:39:06

    Huge killer cows roaming free?!! This sounds like excellent writing material! I shall hightail it to Arizona asap.

    Reply

  4. beautywalk
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 20:42:14

    :0) Let me know when you arrive. I can bring you to their roaming area.
    Yotaki Beautywalk

    Reply

Leave a Reply

