Dumpster Diving

The other day I had the back of my truck full with heavy boxes. All the usual chubby warm neighbors where hanging out on their porch or in the windows watching. Down the road the smiling man who always stops to check the dumpster for plastic bottles and recyclables was walking towards me. He offered to help me carry a few boxes up the stairs. I said no thank you and explained I did not have any money to give him.  He simply smiled and picked up a box. When the truck was almost empty he continued on his way. We said nothing but smiled at each other. 

A week later I saw him. That morning I had a bag of freshly baked cookies I was going to surprise a friend with. Instead I gave them to him. I guess I did surprise a friend.

One can find amazing things when dumpster diving. like a new friend.

Leave a Reply

