Here Mom

The other day my son, (who is grown, 27), and I went on a long trip in the truck. He had not eaten breakfast so as I pumped gas he went into the convenience store and bought food. A breakfast of champions, ice cream bar, something sweet, not really sure what it was and 2 bags of Doritos chips. After a long day when I dropped him off he turns and looks at the two uneaten bags of chips and says, “here mom you take them.” As he is about to close the door he opens it and reaches in gabbing a bag.  “Mom, you take a bag and I take one to give to the homeless.”

There were times I looked at the seat next to me, hungry, eying the chips, but I remembered my son’s words. Yesterday my son had a bad case of food poisoning, on his diet I am not sure how that happened :0), so I went over to be mom doctor. After a few hours I left to attend a lecture but told him to call if he needed anything.  Of course in the middle I got a text but was told no emergency come when the talk was finished. It ended up I spent the night on his couch. Mom’s do that sort of thing even when their boys are grown up.

This morning as I drove home I saw a homeless man inching his way between cars begging.  Somehow this seemed like the one. As he approached I gave him the bag of chips, in a weak and quiet voice he said thank you.

My son taught me a beautiful lesson on that trip and I am glad I was able to fulfill his request to give it away.

Leave a Reply

