What’s in a name?

Before I walked to the library i stopped at my neighbors house to get his card so I could get the book they have on hold for him. My neighbor is in a great deal of pain waiting for back surgery and does go out much these days.
I showed the librarian the card who told me were to find the book then informed me I would need his pin number to check it out. I called but no answer so I tried to check it out under my card but since it was reserved under his name they would not allow it. Too bad security isn’t this tight when someone is doing a mean or hurtful act.
As I walked back home I realized the librarian asked me for his last name. Now here we are neighbors for 3 months, ate BBQ together with friends a number of times but for the life of me I never heard nor thought to ask what his last name is.

Leave a Reply

