Counting

I was listening to the Rabbi speak at Chabad. He spoke about how Jews never count people directly. The hidden meaning behing words, symbols and stories. Then he spoke about Pekudei. The need to understand the impact of our actions. Many cultures tell stories there was even a movie the moth or butterfly effect. The Rabbi spoke about how we were given free will and the slightest action towards good or evil could tip the scales.
I know I am leaving a great deal out but after decades it finally hit home that I count. I do and can make a difference.
This took me back to a painting i had been struggling with

20130307-150326.jpg
There was something haunting about the woman but I was not happy with the painting. I began to think of the Rabbis words. What counts and what is hidden. The painting is no finished but here. It is at the moment.

20130307-150616.jpg

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. dweinberg415
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 19:37:32

    My teacher told told the class, “A painting is never finished, it just stops in interesting places.” That’s helped me look at things another way sometimes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

