Medicine Man

I spoke with a close friend who also happens to be a medicine man in Arizona. He called me up during the eclipse time period. Since he is only a state away we were experiencing close to the events at the same time. Neither of us could see nor did the sky get dark but we both felt the eerie stillness and quite. he started asking me some scientific information then we got onto the more esoteric talk. I said that the new age community was saying the solar eclipse was masculine and the lunar to come in a month is feminine.  That this one will more strongly effect the men. He asked me who and why they said it. I think they say it because everyone next to them said it or read it.  He asked why one was male and one female so I had to think.

All I could come up with was ties to Greek and Roman myths and legends or Asian myths which also have to do with our basic classification beliefs about gender. The sun being strong and powerful, can make plants grow, gives us light and warmth and the moon being dark and mysterious, in a continual mode of birth from full to empty.

The next solar eclipse is not for 100 years in some locations and 200 in others. Does that also say something about men? How and when did planets get sexual? Why do we give attributes to them? How do the myths still factor into our societal practices?

That simple conversation gave me a great deal to think about.  I would love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

