Craving cookies

I have been wanting cookies for a few days now and trying to put it off. I finally gave in to my desire.  It is 90+ degrees out so I didn’t feel like driving to the store. Instead lighting the oven somehow made more sense.  I checked out the cupboards to see what I had. I did have oatmeal even a little flour so off I went into the land of make-believe. This is where I believe I can do anything and it usually works out. My cookies are a delicious cake only because I do not have a cookie sheet actually I only have the one pan if you remember.

Preheat oven to 375

This is what I used to measure with. I pretended it was a 1/2 cup but actually it is a Chinese tea cup so please keep that in mind when you follow the directions.

For ease of direction I will refer to the tea cup as 1/2 cup.

1/2 C of oats  1/4 C flour (use same tea cup)  1/2 cup milk 2 eggs

1/4 tsp cinnamon  1/4 tsp baking soda  1/4 tsp salt  1/2 tsp baking powder  3 or 5 shakes of cayenne pepper (up to you)  7 shakes of Tumeric

tea cup full of raisins

Mix all the dry ingredients together, add milk, beat eggs add eggs.

Bake about 15 or 20 minutes. The slash you see in the cake is where I stuck the knife in to test.  If it comes up clean they are done.  Don’t over cook as it si moist and fluffy.  When you pull them out they are a beautiful golden brown and cut open to see a spectacular reddish orange.

                      It is now time to enjoy! I have some homemade pumpkin butter which is really jam. I think I might put a bit on one slice.  This is heaven! I really think it is my best share so far.  I hope you enjoy it.  I’m going back into the kitchen for another slice.  I am so glad I did a 60 minute fitness walk this morning.

Leave a Reply

