Loyalty

One would not think of loyalty as a bad thing but I think for me too much loyalty is not a good thing.  I am too loyal. If you are my friend or I care about you I have your back 100%+ and I discovered that is not good.  I am too loyal.  People need someone to have their back but they also must stand up alone. It deprives people of experiencing the ability to fight, win or lose their own battles to be a single point alone and strong.

To me I want someone in my life who is loyal and who I know will always have my back but I want to stand up for myself.  So loyalty is very important to me.  A person’s word and their integrity are all linked together with loyalty.  I am still in the process of discovery about this so I hope this post makes sense.  It is also not directed at anyone so please if you read this do not take it personally as it is only directed towards me, myself and I.  I am very interested in hearing your thoughts and feelings about loyalty so please share. Maybe being to loyal to others is not being loyal to myself.  The question I should ask myself is

“What am I willing to live for?” “What am I loyal to in myself?”

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:27:01

    Wow, this post really makes me think. Loyalty is an extremely important issue to me, and I know that I am a very loyal friend and family member.
    I have been going through a phase of late, where I feel I don’t recieve the same type of loyalty in return that I gladly give the people in my life who I love and care about.
    It makes me wonder if I’ve done something wrong or have not given them what they truly need. It causes me to go inside and re-examine things and circumstances.
    I don’t think I have any answer or advice on this….. but you’ve just really got me thinking…
    We’ll talk about it I’m sure……. Sarah

    Reply

  2. Aurora HSP
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 13:01:49

    Yes, there is a line when loyalty crosses over to become co-dependence and the “loyalty” is no longer pure. That, to me, is NOT loyalty at all. Just two people getting emotional needs met by their dependence on one another for value. Loyalty to me is when a friend tells me she is thinking about (to employ metaphor only here): jumping over a cliff. And I tell her, “I do not understand why you wish to jump over that cliff. But it is your choice and I support your choices so much that I will be there to catch you when you fall.”

    Reply

  3. beautywalk
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 23:33:39

    I see you have posted more about loyalty on your blog. I hope folks check out what you have posted there as well as you always have such wonderful comments and write deep honest words.
    Is there too much loyalty? I think co-dependency differs from loyalty but the action can have some of the same effects. Both too much loyalty and co-dependency can take the ability to make decisions and face consequences from an individual. The difference I think is co-dependency needs approval loyalty needs to rescue via honor. Does that make any sense?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

