For my baby

Sometimes we have something so precious that we do not know how to hold it. A gem can be displayed or locked in a safe. But when the gem is human flesh and blood the balance between holding and letting go is precarious.  To tell someone you love them is only words and they often fall unheard, to show someone can be confusing, the action misinterpreted.

I have been the mother to an amazing young woman who is now the mother to children. It is interesting to see how similar she is to my mother rather than to me and yet at times surprised me by doing things with her children I did not think she remembered having done with me. I am sure as she grew up I did things I thought were funny but embarrassed her just as my father embarrassed me with his humor. A strange path that twists and turns.

I carried her across North Africa and half of Europe on my back. We would have adventures and get lost.  When I could not be with her I would tell her the Care Bears watched and protected her and yet she somehow manged to grow up wise, beautiful and independent. I hope that some of the magic has been implanted into her spirit. She was a member of the honor society in middle school and went through college on a math scholarship to earn her masters degree. I could not make it through the week without being kick out of school.

There are many people to admire. But Tanya is someone who has grace, dignity, brains, and beauty. There are so many facets that shine. She creates love through her decorative pillows or paintings, the food she cooks and time she takes with her friends but her family, children and husband are first, as it should be.  Today the president came to town some admire others do not and I began to think who do I admire.

My daughter, my shining star and piece of my heart. I just thought I would take a moment tonight to say I love you, princess.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 22:48:57

    Precious is all I can say….. I would love to meet her sometime. I know she’s visiting soon…. wouldn’t it be wonderful if that visit included a Tuesday… and she could experience Reiki and her Mother in that setting….

    Food for thought….. XO

    Reply

  2. beautywalk
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 22:53:52

    They leave Monday. Too short😢

    Reply

  3. Anya
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 04:53:07

    She is wonderful indeed… And loved and admired by me too! : )

    Reply

  4. Irene Tobias Rodriguez
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 07:13:55

    Yea for daughters!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

