Wanna Socialize?

Miss! Miss! Miss! The high nasal voice echoed across the parking lot. I had just returned my library books, climbed into my truck and was in the process of closing the door. Somehow I knew unfortunately that voice was directed at me. Checking to be sure my purse was safe I turned to face the intruder wondering if I might have dropped something. He approached the rear of the truck and repeated, “Miss, would you like to socialize?”

He had me at a loss.  Socialize? Is that code for something?  Do I somehow look less than human? Was the 87 year old Erkle look-a-like giving me a pick up line? He must have taken my silence as a signal it was okay to move in so I abruptly turned my head and said no, closing the door.  “Are you sure you don’t want to socialize?” He asked again. I was tempted to say yes, I was sure; but then he might take that as a positive response to his request. So I repeated no from inside the truck. Perhaps he was the creepy old man or an angel in disguise and I just failed that test. I am not sure but what I am sure of is

No, I do not want to socialize.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Irene Tobias Rodriguez
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 07:06:59

    probably a smart move. Ever heard of “Woman’s Personal Protection”. Be alert and don’t take chances.

    Reply

  2. beautywalk
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 09:44:16

    Profound advice. I certainly agree and always have something of protection on me.
    Yotaki

    Reply

Leave a Reply

