Imitation as flattery

They say imitation is the best form of flattery but there is also such a thing as integrity, honesty and giving credit where it is due.  Meaning one should not claim as their own what was learned from another.  I was a bit shocked to hear my beautiful colored sparkly bits rain down from another persons mouth.  I do not mind they used the phrase, only that they thought it was original to someone who copied it from me and never gave me credit.  She claims it was her idea.  It was not.  I would say it at the close of all her circles and taught it to my students before I even met her.  Giving credit where due I learned it from a Reiki master in CT back in 1993. So let’s play fair.  Share the light and as the principles stated with honesty and intention. So here again I wish you all beautiful colorful sparkly bits all about you.  Yotaki

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aurora, HSP
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 12:26:13

    Happens too often. I once wrote a report for a Ministry and my supervisor never said I did it, just let everyone think she did it so all the Execs were smiling down on her. Until there was a big meeting which I was to attend, just a staff sort of regular thing, where I turned up with a giant “Thank you” card and passed it to her in front of everyone who waited with bated breath to see what it was all about. Inside the card, I wrote:”Thank you so much for the opportunity to write the — report…” She turned red. Then passed the card around and everyone was silent. She never tried anything like that again and was even careful about saying who did what 🙂 Good for you for speaking out. If we don’t, they will just keep doing it, Yotaki. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Yotaki
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 13:28:54

    Yes, it is unfair to take credit for what is not yours. The problem with claiming what is your work or creative idea is that you have to be so careful not to sound aggressive or defensive even though you are the injured party.
    You handled that situation very well. Yes, I am sure she will keep taking from others and claiming as her own. The people who matter will know as “they” say. It does bother me where if she has said where she had first heard or learned it I would have been so pleased to hear she was using it. Thanks for stopping by. I always love to hear what you think. Yotaki

    Reply

Leave a Reply

