Navajo Beauty Way Prayer

This is a Navajo Prayer that since I first heard it I begin every day with it.  Facing East I gaze at the sun and ask for guidance for the day. My prayers as sent off to creator with a pinch of sacred yellow pollen to the four directions as I recite the prayer below.

Today may I walk out in beauty.

With beauty may I walk.
With beauty before me, may I walk.
With beauty behind me, may I walk.
With beauty above me, may I walk.
With beauty below me, may I walk.
With beauty around me, may I walk.
It is finished in beauty.
It is finished in beauty.

To walk in Beauty is to walk in balance with all things. I ask that my words be spoken in beauty.  I wish to do nothing to harm another.  This includes the small insects as well as other humans. Words carry great power.  Perhaps tomorrow we can discuss that in greater detail.  Words can destroy or heal. Our thoughts have strength, to speak the thoughts aloud puts power behind them, to act on the thought is to create something that was not there before.  What is it that you have created?  I ask that my words be beautiful.  My walk to be in beauty to be in balance with all things.  To see beauty even in what first appears to be ugly or distasteful.  I hope this short explanation helps give you an introductory understanding of the Beautyway prayer.  Try repeating it and experience the changes it brings to your life.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 337 other followers

